Ukens navn: Nina Nieminen

Nina Nieminen
Director of Revenue Management and Distribution
SOK Travel and Hospitality Industry Chain Management (Sokos Hotels)

Nina is a member of the newly established HSMAI Region Europe Distribution Advisory Board.

Q: What does a day at work consist of for you?

A: A lot of interaction within my team, with marketing, IT, sales and operations either in meetings, via Skype or phone, or just face to face. My «own» office hours normally start around four o’clock in the afternoon, when I get prepared for the upcoming meetings and projects, and sort out my emails. Some days I block just for myself to be able to really drill down to a specific topic or strategic planning, which could then mean that other days are packed with meetings.

Q: What’s the best part of your job?

A: To be able to constantly develop, whether it’s processes, systems and tools or myself.

Q: Do you have anyone you’ve looked up to?

A: Many, previous boss, current one as well, old & current colleagues … So many people have skills and talents I’d love to have as well.

Q: Do you have any nice traditions at your office?

A: Thursday pizzas in a nearby restaurant.

Q: How long have you been a member of HSMAI?

A: I just joined, together with my team.

Q: What do you think is the best thing about HSMAI?

A: To interact with different people from different organisations and learn something new from them.

Q: Are there any activities or projects you think HSMAI should start up?

A: For me it’s too early to say.

Q: Describe your perfect weekend.

A: Yoga or pilates in the morning, sunny weather, some outdoor activities, like walking or cycling, preferably in the nature. Spend time with family and friends, and have nice meal. Relax in the sauna, which most of us Finns need to have in our perfect weekend!

Q: If you were trapped on a desert island, what would you take with you, if you could choose one thing?

A: A good book.

Q: What is the title of the book about your life?

A: My travels around the world and what I learned from them. I love to travel, to experience new cultures and destinations. My two favourite cities are Hong Kong and New York, and my favourite country is India.

Q: What is your next travel destination?

A: Samos, Greece, family vacation is waiting.

Q: Do you have any special hobbies?

A: Yoga and pilates.